Fresh Faces at OPRC!

Along with our recent ownership changes, the Overland Park Racquet Club gained additional excellent top-level professional support for our players. OPRC boasts the largest and most experienced group of tennis teaching professionals in Kansas City. Continue reading and learn more about our new Owners and partners.
.

elliott pic Elliott McDermed- elliott@opracquetclub.com
  • OPRC/KCUT Owner, Director
  • 19 years coaching experience
  • Prince Plugged in Coordinator/Coach
  • USTA Regional Training Center Coach


eric pic Eric Rand- eric@opracquetclub.com
  • OPRC/KCUT Owner, Director
  • 16 years coaching experience
  • Developed 38 MV Champions, 8 National Champions, and ITF title holders
  • Coached many collegiate college All-Americans and NCAA national champions



berry pic> Barry King- barry@opracquetclub.com
  • Director of Tennis
  • USPTR Certified Level P1
  • USTA High Performance Coach
  • Prince Academy PPI Director/Head Coach
  • USTA/RTC Director and Head Coach



Professional Staff

Scott Fenton – sfenton@opracquetclub.com
  • General Manager
  • former Director Nike Tournament Tough Tennis Camps, Lake Buena Vista, FL
  • 3 time WVIAC doubles champion, West Virginia Wesleyan College
  • 1996 Top 30 national ranking, Men’s Amateur Singles



Jake Hannas – jake@opracquetclub.com
  • 40 years teaching experience, 35 years as a member of USPTA
  • former player Purdue University Varsity tennis
  • Past Champion – USTA MO Valley Sectional Singles – Mens’ 55′s & Mens’ 60′s
  • OPRC: Jake helps manage the club, coordinates ladies singles and doubles leagues, and teaches private lessons
John Waltz – johnwaltz@opracquetclub.com
  • 35 years teaching experience
  • Coached nationally ranked juniors, All-Americans, and Davis Cup players
  • 2010 Hall of Fame Inductee – Washburn University Athletics
  • OPRC: John is the Head Tennis Professional, Director of the Futures program and teaches private and semi-private lessons
Jorge Acosta – jorge@opracquetclub.com
  • 20 years teaching experience
  • Former college player at Johnson County Community College & Emporia State University
  • OPRC: Jorge is the Director of the Rising Stars program, runs adult beginner clinics, and teaches private and semi-private lessons
jason kane1 Jason Kane- jason@opracquetclub.com
  • Director of Adult Tennis
  • USPTA/USPTR certified
  • Player for KC Explorers 2010-2012
  • Professional Sattelite Player 2995-1998



Kirsten Agee – kirsten@opracquetclub.com
  • 20 Years teaching experience
  • USPTA certified
  • Kansas 6A State High School Championship team
  • OPRC: Kirsten is an instructor in the 10 & Under program and teaches private and semi-private lessons
chris1 Chris Claypool- chris@opracquetclub.com
  • Director of 10 and Under Tennis
  • USPTR certified
  • 5 years coaching experience
  • Former player at Westminster College

Jim Duddy – jim@opracquetclub.com
  • 13 years teaching experience
  • USPTR certified
  • Former women’s coach at Rockhurst College
  • OPRC: Jim works with the Futures Program and teaches private and semi-private lessons
Taylor Fournier – taylor@opracquetclub.com
  • 2008 Kansas 6A State Singles Champion
  • 2008 National High School All-American
  • Ranked #26 2008 class – Tennis Recruiting
  • Top 30 National ranking
  • 2009-2011 University of Michigan Varsity Women’s Tennis
Bill Guilfoil – billguilfoil@opracquetclub.com
  • 50+ years teaching experience
  • Former collegiate coach at Rockhurst College
  • World-ranked table tennis player
  • OPRC: Bill runs the Sunday Night League and Table Tennis


Champy Halim – champy@opracquetclub.com
  • 12 years teaching experience
  • Junior ranked in Indonesia #1; Internationally #36 in singles, #18 in doubles
  • former player Miami University (OH), nationally ranked
  • former Asst Coach of Miami University (OH) Womens Team
  • OPRC: Champy works with Academy and Futures program and teaches private and semi-private lessons
Taj Harrison Taj Harrison – taj@opracquetclub.com
  • former player – University of Arkansas varsity tennis (dbls & singles)
  • 2 year recipient of the SEC award at University of Arkansas
  • Kansas 5A state singles champion – Bishop Miege HS
  • KC Star All-Metro & All-Eastern Kansas League athletic honors
  • OPRC: Taj works with the Academy, teaches Cardio, and private & semi private lessons
Marco Rodriguez – marco@opracquetclub.com
  • 15 years teaching experience
  • USPTA certified
  • OPRC: Marco works with the Academy and Futures programs and teaches private and semi-private lessons

  Mark Valladares – markvalladares@yahoo.com
  • 14 years teaching experience
  • USPTA certified
  • Played college tennis at Amherst College
  • OPRC: Mark runs adult and junior classes and teaches private and semi-private lessons
Mike Young – mike@opracquetclub.com
  • 35 years teaching experience
  • Former head professional at indoor & outdoor clubs
  • Former Director of Tennis, Van Der Meer Tennis University
  • USPTR certified professional & tester
  • OPRC: Mike runs Wednesday night men’s singles league, teaches private and semi-private lessons and adult clinics